Why We Love…

Hey, ya’ll! I’ll be posting about why we love today…

why-we-love

God is love. Wanna know how we know that? It’s a proven fact! And the proof is right here in 1 John, chapter 4. I’ll be referring to verses from 1 John and 1 Corinthians today.

1 John 4:9 says,

“This is how God showed His toward us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him.”

What is love? 1 John 4:10:

“We love because He first loved us. Whoever claims to love God yet hates a brother or sister is a liar. For whoever does not love their brother or sister, whom they have seen, cannot love God who they not seen. And He has given us this command: Anyone who loves God must also love their brother and sister.”

That is why we love, because God is love. I was going to try explain some more, but these awesome verses already did that! God gave us a commandment to love others. It’s NOT a suggestion. Is it going to be easy? No, it’s not. And God knows that. We’re not perfect. God understands, but He wants us to try, no matter how hard. Just pray and ask Him to help you. He’ll gladly give you a hand. And when we do love others? God showers blessings on us. If we heap burning coals of shame on the people who persecute us, then God will bless us. We must be kind to our neighbors and show them love. Then they’ll see it and be ashamed. Let’s love one another, okay?

1 Corinthians (AKA The Love Chapter) 13:4-13

The numbers in the verses mean verse number 😉

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boat, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices in the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 8 Love NEVER fails. But where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part,  10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears, “When I was a child, I thought like a child, reasoned like a child. 11 When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. 13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

1 John 3:16-18

This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down His life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters. If anyone has material possessions and sees a brother or sister in need but has no pity on them, how can the love of God be in that person? Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.

Love is action. We have to show others love. Not just say it. Showing others the love we have for them will prove our love. If we do good deeds without love, it means nothing.

1 Corinthians 13: 1-3

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift prophesy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if In have a faith that can move mountains but do not have love, then I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Dear Lord, you know how hard it is to love others. You really do. Thank you for understanding. Please help me to love others and to show them I love them. I need your help. I can’t do this without your hand. Thank you for showing me your everlasting love! Thank you for loving me, a sinner. I’m forever grateful.

I love you, my Heavenly Daddy. Forever. Amen.

I pray that this post was helpful and a reminder of what love is. Listen to Only Your Love by Kari Jobe and Proof of Your Love by for KING AND COUNTRY. They’re amazing songs!!!

fall-leaf

Have a joyful, blessed day, friends!

Maddi the joyful

2 thoughts on “Why We Love…

Leave a Reply {{ Please don't take the Lord's holy name in vain. Also, if you're comment is not kind or encouraging, please refrain from saying it. Thanks! }}

